# CCTV Center for Media & Democracy Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors

Time: Wednesday, June 13, 2018 from 8:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

Location: CCTV Center for Media & Democracy, 294 N. Winooski Avenue, Burlington, VT

**Note:** The time of this Annual Meeting differs from the time set forth in the organization's Bylaws, and such was changed by a resolution accepted via vote at the May 10, 2018 meeting of the Board of Directors.

# <u>Upcoming Meetings</u> | Board Contact Information

The mission of CCTV Center for Media & Democracy is to open the door for democratic social change to happen. We aim to be a trusted provider of free speech training, tools and channels. We serve activists, civic leaders, nonprofits and community members who want to increase their reach and impact. CCTV Center for Media & Democracy

### **MINUTES**

Present: Jason Pelletier, Erin Malone, Scott Pavek, Mary Simons, Julia Vallera

## **Consent Agenda**

Minutes - May 2018 - Approved Financials - May 31, 2018 - Accepted

Activities and Financial Condition Summary - Action: Accepted.

The Board reviewed the Activities and Financial Condition of the Organization report. Jason mentioned to the Board that Jane wanted to draw our attention to CCTV's need to diversify its revenue sources, given the organization's reliance on one revenue stream (franchise fees). The Board discussed the need to set new, clear expectations for fundraising programs. The Board may explore working with Channel 17 Trustees and Municipalities to identify new revenue streams for the channel. The Board of Directors may invite Trustees to engage in strategic planning sessions beginning in the fall.

**Election of Directors** - Per the organization's Bylaws, Board Members of the Board of Directors are to be elected at the Annual Meeting. As such, we will vote to re-elect the following Board Members, each to a new three (3) year term beginning on July 1, 2018:

- Jane Knodell
- Erin Malone
- Scott Pavek
- Jason Pelletier
- Mary Simons
- Shay Totten
- Julia Vallera

Action: All Directors were re-elected in a unanimous vote.

**Election of Officers** - Per the organization's Bylaws, Officers of the corporation are to be elected at the Annual Meeting. As such, we will vote to re-elect the following Board Members to hold the Office designated here, each to a new two (2) year term beginning on July 1, 2018: Jason Pelletier, President

Julia Vallera, Vice President Scott Pavek, Secretary

Jane Knodell, Treasurer

Action: All officers were re-elected in a unanimous vote.

**Schedule of meetings** - The Board considered a resolution to add to the meeting schedule. The Board will not meet in July or August. Meetings will resume in September. The Board will meet every second Thursday of each month, December excluded, at 5:30pm through and including June 2019 at the CCTV Center for Media & Democracy headquarters, 294 N. Winooski Ave, Burlington, VT. **Action: Approved** 

# Meeting adjourned